Arizona Counties Unanimously Vote to Join Electronic Registration Information Center

Arizona kicked off 2018 with all 15 counties reaching a unanimous agreement to participate in the Electronic Registration Information Center, more commonly known as ERIC.

ERIC started in 2012, since then 22 states have joined. ERIC is a non-profit organization owned, governed and funded by the states that works to improve the accuracy of America’s voter rolls and increase access to voter registration for all eligible citizens. Maintaining accurate voter registration lists is essential to protecting election integrity by further ensuring that each eligible voter casts a single ballot in only their designated jurisdiction.

One in eight voter records nationally have errors that need updating, and 51 million citizens remain unregistered. There are many challenges facing election administrators when charged with maintaining accurate voter registration rolls - inefficiencies ranging from voter registration systems that are still reliant on handwritten forms and postal mail leads to states facing higher costs to maintain a clean voter roll.

ERIC compares official data provided by participating states, U.S. Postal Service addresses, Social Security death records, and motor vehicle records, to identify out-of-date records – those that have moved, changed their names, or died. The data is then shared with member states who can update their voter registration rolls accordingly.

While the National Voter Registration Act does permit states to use uniform and non-discriminatory practices to ensure the accuracy of voter registration lists, each state makes its own determination about how to best maintain an accurate voter registration list. Two of the most common cross-state efforts include ERIC (22 participating states) and the Interstate Crosscheck Program (30 participating states).

Arizona had been looking at ERIC for years, and a recent grant that will cover some of the costs finally provided an opportunity for Arizona to join, according to Secretary of State Michele Reagan. The costs of ERIC include a one-time $25,000 fee upon joining, and the annual fee that lowers as more states join.


The ERIC member-states:

  •  Alaska
  •  Alabama
  •  Arizona
  •  Colorado
  •  Connecticut
  •  Delaware
  •  Illinois
  •  Louisiana
  •  Maryland
  •  Minnesota
  •  Nevada
  •  New Mexico
  •  Ohio
  •  Oregon
  •  Pennsylvania
  •  Rhode Island
  •  Utah
  •  Virginia
  •  Washington
  •  Washington, D.C.
  •  West Virginia
  •  Wisconsin