As of May 2017, 17 states have submitted their complete plans under the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) to the U.S. Department of Education (ED). The remaining states are expected to submit their plans this September.

WHEREAS, the Every Student Succeeds Act (ESSA) was enacted on December 10th, 2015, and reauthorizes the Elementary and Secondary Education Act of 1965 (ESEA); and

WHEREAS, ESEA established a national commitment to offering equitable education opportunities to all elementary and secondary students, regardless of location, family income, or other factors; and