Transportation Policy Academy 2013 - DC - Meeting Archive

Ten state legislators from around the country, many of them transportation committee chairs or vice chairs in their respective states, attended the invitation-only CSG Transportation Policy Academy October 28-30, 2013 in Washington, DC. The event included a panel discussion on the transportation funding packages approved this year in Maryland and Virginia. Attendees met with members of Congress and officials at the U.S. Department of Transportation. They toured transportation projects in Maryland and got a briefing on vehicle-to-vehicle technology at Toyota's Government Affairs office. In addition, the group took part in a transportation policy roundtable that included stakeholders and experts from the American Society of Civil Engineers, the Eno Center for Transportation, the U.S. Chamber of Commerce, the American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, the Bipartisan Policy Center, Transportation for America and ITS America. The discussion focused on such topics as the state of the nation's infrastructure, the federal role in transportation, the role of the business community in encouraging infrastructure investment, the chances for a new federal surface transportation bill and the future of transportation funding and the federal-state-local partnership on transportation. This page includes links to additional pages highlighting various portions of the policy academy and including extended remarks from speakers, additional resources and further reading.

Pictured from L to R on October 30 at U.S. Department of Transportation: Sen. Tod Bowman (D-IA), Rep. Dave Hinson (R-MO), Rep. Rick Gray (R-AZ), Rep. Peggy Wilson (R-AK), Sen. Thomas McGee (D-MA), Rep. Ed DeLaney (D-IN), Rep. Frank Hornstein (DFL-MN), Del. Joe May (R-VA) and Rep. Leslie Combs (D-KY). Also attending the policy academy but not pictured: Rep. Linda Harper-Brown (R-TX).

CSG Transportation Policy Academy

Washington, DC, October 28-30, 2013


Monday, October 28

Part 1: Transportation-Focused Tour hosted by Maryland Department of Transportation

Presentations on Takoma Park/Langley Transit Facility, Purple Line light-rail project public-private partnership, transit-oriented development in Montgomery County and the financing and operation of the Intercounty Connector toll road.

Part 2: Opening Dinner Keynote Speaker: James T. Smith, Jr., Maryland Secretary of Transportation

Tuesday, October 29

Transportation Policy Roundtable

Part 3: Brian Pallasch, American Society of Civil Engineers, Managing Dir. for Government Relations & Infrastructure Initiatives

Topic: ASCE’s 2013 Report Card for America’s Infrastructure

Part 4: Joshua Schank, Eno Center for Transportation, President & CEO

Topic: The Federal Role in Transportation

Part 5: Drew Preston, U.S. Chamber of Commerce, Manager of Congressional & Public Affairs

Topic: Transportation Investment & the Business Community

Part 6: Joung Lee, American Association of State Highway and Transportation Officials, Associate Director for Finance & Business Development

Topic: State Transportation Funding

Part 7: Panel Discussion with Emil Frankel, Bipartisan Policy Center, Visiting Scholar; Sarah Kline, Transportation for America, Research Director and Paul Feenstra, ITS America, Senior VP for Government & External Affairs

Topic: Future of Federal-State-Local Partnership on Transportation

Part 8:Luncheon Event at Toyota Government Affairs Office with Hillary Cain, Toyota, National Mgr. for Innovation & Technology Policy, and Scott Belcher, ITS America, President & CEO

Topic: Vehicle-to-Vehicle Communication

Wednesday, October 30

Part 9: Panel Discussion on Virginia and Maryland Transportation Funding Plans

Speakers:  Del. William Howell (R-VA), Speaker of the House

                  Matt Strader, Asst. Secretary of Transportation, Commonwealth of Virginia

                  Del. Kumar Barve (D-MD), Majority Leader

                  Bruce Gartner, Asst. Secretary for Transportation Policy & Freight, Maryland

Part 10: Listening Session at U.S. Department of Transportation

Speakers: Polly Trottenberg, Under Secretary for Policy

                 Beth Osborne, Deputy Asst. Secretary for Transportation Policy

                 Dana Gresham, Asst. Secretary for Governmental Affairs

    Joanna Turner, Deputy Asst. Secretary for Governmental Affairs    


CSG thanks the American Society of Civil Engineers, Nissan and Toyota for their support of this policy academy.

Thanks also to the Maryland Department of Transportation for program assistance.