Michigan adopts law — for now — ensuring workers paid sick time
Michigan is the first state in the Midwest with a law requiring employers to offer paid sick time to their workers. But after the legislative vote, it was unclear how long the new measure would stay on the books. The Earned Sick Time Act began as an initiative petition and was scheduled to be on the November ballot. However, the Michigan Constitution gives the Legislature the opportunity to consider proposed ballot initiatives. Legislative approval of paid sick time came in early September — meaning no statewide vote on the measure.
According to The Detroit News, the Legislature could return later this year and “gut” the Earned Sick Time Act. Amending a voter-approved ballot measure, on the other hand, would have been much more difficult. For now, though, under the new law, an individual will receive one hour of paid sick time for every 30 hours worked. In a given year, a worker will be able to use up to 72 hours of sick time — paid at his or her normal hourly wage. This cap falls to 40 hours per year for workers at businesses with nine or fewer employees.
According to the National Partnership for Women & Families, 10 states outside the Midwest already have laws mandating paid sick days.
|Stateline Midwest: October 2018||3.82 MB|